Amy’s Ride Canberra 2011

I got up at 6 this morning for the Amy’s ride Canberra 2011. This year they had combined it with the Big Canberra Bike Ride. I took Black Magic for the ride. I packed a 2nd tube and the full puncture repair kit. I got to the park in front of old parliament house and picked up my number. I got the jersey I ordered and a free T-shirt from a previous event – probably the Parra Pedal ride, I packed all this into the jersey pockets. I got my number pinned on and was ready for the ride start at 7.30.
When the ride headed off I got talking to a guy on a newish steel frame – I was later to see him at the drinks stop near Mt Stromlo with a badly damaged STI Shifter. We headed out through the streets out towards Mt Stromlo and the Cotter area. It was a mixed bunch doing the 105 Kilometer ride. Some very committed club riders and some ordinary riders such as myself.
We rode through the road works and onto Uriarra road. The traffic was light but it was there. We reached the first drinks stop near Mt Stromlo and I refilled the water bottles and put some sunscreen. While I was there there was a guy who’s day was almost set to end early with a dead tyre. I lent him the puncture kit and pump. I also gave him a tube. I was surprised someone would ride without at least a new puncture kit. He was riding an old road bike that was using 27 & 1/4 tyres. Eventually the mechanic came and lent him the track pump to top up the tyre. He thanked me profusely. I guess the Karma bank account got topped up and I was to need it desperately later on in the day.
As the ride progressed I got talking to a guy from Cooma Cycling Club. I have one of their jerseys from the Netti sale in Sydney. I wasn’t sure that there was any such thing but there is. He was a nice guy and we rode on for a while. We got through Uriarra Crossing quite well and there was every sign of last night’s rain.
We got through the first lap of the Cotter loop and I used the Power Bar. I began the 2nd lap aware that the humidity was taking it’s toll on me. I rode back down through Uriarra Crossing and began counting down the kilometers to Canberra. The humidity did have a major effect I was sweating like a boar and was lucky to get through the ride.
It turned out I was to be the last man in. I rode had hard and as well as I could. I got to the Brindabella road and the organisers car began following me. I let the driver know that I was going to have to have to stop to use the Gu packet to keep myself going. I eventually did use it but was low on water. He drove ahead of me to get some more. I rode on through the Cotter area and met him as I began the climb out. I got 2 bottles one with Power aid and the other with water. I was desperate for this. I went through to the next water stop where I got some jelly beans to build up my energy I rode on down Cotter road through the new area being built near Mt Stromlo.
I nearly crashed on the loose gravel but stayed upright. I got to Adelaide Avenue and rode on to Parliament House following the organisers car. I got to the park where the ride started and got some more water and yet another t-shirt. I got a look at the organisers car – a Honda Hybrid – which was a hatch back and was quite surprised. I had a good rest before riding home.

Leave a comment