The Great Escapade Day 11 Singleton Rest Day

Great Escapade Day 11 Rest Day

I got up and decided to go on a walking tour of the town with the local Historical Society. It cost $10 and included admission to the local museum. It would make up for missing out on the Army museum, which I had visited the last time I was in Singleton as a young army cadet. I was miffed that I would miss out on the army museum but hoped this would fill the niche. I went to the museum after breakfast. I hung about in the park outside and saw the monuments to WWI & II and a memorial to a local who died in the Boer War.

When the museum opened we had enough people to do 2 tours. And we had a good look around. The museum was a collection of old junk basically. Agricultural and Domestic tools, only a few of which actually related to Singleton. This was limited to a few town items such as the roll of former mayors of the town of Singleton and the Patrick Plains shire presidents.

The tour was ordinary we saw some buildings and got the low down on what role they played in the history of the town and who built them. The only difference between this tour and the tour of Rylstone was that Rylstone was cheaper.

I got some photos of the Worlds Largest Sundial – one of the things Singleton holds as a tourist attraction.

After the tour I had a counter lunch at the pub near the showgrounds where we were camped. And went back to camp. I caught up with Ian and his family. We chatted about Sydney and Melbourne cycling and motorist issues.

I went to one of the WARBY’s lessons on bike maintenance, it was useful It covered chain maintenance gear adjustment, brake maintenance and some information on servicing.

The movies tonight were Little Miss Sunshine – about a dysfunctional family taking a road trip to get their daughter to a beauty pageant in the states and Look Both Ways, which was about a romance between a couple in Adelaide who have premonitions of disaster. You could have swapped titles for both films although the were good.

Leave a comment