Resurecting the Katana & Triathlon

There has not been much going on at the present moment. I have been looking at the possibility of participating in the Lithgow Triathlon. It has been set up to be a fun day. There are 3 categories, Try a Try for small Children, the Preliminary (which I am likely to participate in) has a 200m swim, a 10 km bike leg and a 3 km run & the main event which has a 400m swim, 20 km bike leg and a 5 km run.

I have decided to try (pardon the pun) things to see how they go before I enter. I went to the pool on Friday and did some laps. I got sunburned in the process. I also found that I am a slow swimmer doing freestyle while being slightly faster doing breast stroke. The pool has not changed much in the years since I last visited (I must have been at school at the time).

Today I did a slow run to one of the bike shops involved in the Triathlon and found that I had to stop a few times for breath more times than I care to admit. I have never been a runner. I have to say that it was a major effort to get things done at school when running came up in the PE classes.

All this effort is making some of my muscles noticeable (read tight) I would have to say I wonder how I would go riding to the pool andriding back. I intend on doing the training a day at a time. I will make a decision by the end of the week as to if I am going to enter the event the decisive factor will be if I see if my fitness improve. 

All this has turned my attention to the Katana which has been languishing in my room for months. I have decided it will get the new wheels from another 2nd had bike put on it It will also have a new chain and a new set of cables. I took it to Belly’s Bikes in Bathurst for the service and adjustments. I will find out on Monday if things have been successful.

I have also been considering getting some aero bars for the triathlon (should I enter it!) I have searched the on-line bike shops and eBay for time trial bars andhave found that they are hot items on eBay and expensive everywhere else. I have even tried looking at some overseas sites. Aerobars also known as Time trial bars or triathlon bars are used for triathlons but have been used for time-trialling. They may be useful for time-trialing if DHBC competes in time-trials. I have heard that they are not used for group rides so they will have to be taken off the bike should I take it on slowies.

I have also decided to get the new wheel for the fearless gearless in spite of the price going up due to the drop in the Aussie dollar (otherwise known as the pacific peso). The impact of the drop in the Aussie dollar has been felt in the cycling industry – most bikes containing any US content eg Trek, Cannondale and Surly now have hefty price tags. Combined with the drop in petrol prices due to the crash in the economy it will be interesting to see how things shape up in 2009 with regards to cycling infrastructure.

Leave a comment