The Rotary Scenic Cycle Tour of Canberra Total contribution to the Grand for Charity 77.4 Km

This one is old, so old it has whiskers. It has been difficult to get the time to write the full account of this particular ride but I have the time and the inclination and the access to the internet so I will do it now.

On the 27th of September 2009 I took part in the Rotary Scenic Cycle Tour of Canberra. I did it on the Green Trek. I had little training as it was the first ride back from the winter break which seems to put a lot of cycling events on hold.

This ride is one that I have always had in the back of my mind as being one I would like to do. It is one of the rides that builds local riders up for the Fitz’s challenge and other rides later in the season. I was still living at the Pavilion on Northbourne and was toying with the idea of doing the century but had let the opportunity pass me by. However there was a guy at work Andrew who was doing the ride and I decided to give it a try. I signed up and got myself in for the five peaks ride.

In the morning I got myself up bright and early and made the bike ready. I had a couple of energy bars which I put in the new rack bag. I also made sure I had some gear for a change in the weather conditions and took a rain jacket. I filled the bidons and headed out to Blundells cottage by Lake Burley Griffin.

I got there in time to get myself ready for the ride and did a few mechanical checks.

During these checks I found I needed some air in the tyres and borrowed a floor pump from another rider. I also caught up with Andrew and some of his friends. In contrast to the Green Trek, he rode an Avanti Blade and was ready for some longish riding. He had also done some training so I knew he was going to have an easier time of it than I would.

The format of the ride is something I am going to have to get used to. Riders ride to certain points in the course and collect stamps on a card at a check point. This I have been informed is to keep some of the Audax people happy. When it came time to head off our first destination was going to be Mount Pleasant.

Mount Pleasant as the name suggests was an easy hill for those who were in good shape. I made it up the hill and was amazed at the number of riders on this ride. Some came from local triathlon and cycling clubs and were well prepared. We went through Duntroon and up to the Royal Australian Artillery memorial where there was a guy with a caravan stamping cards. I got some more water here and was better prepared than at the start. I also got some bickies which were good for energy.

Next on the agenda was Mt Ainslie. Which was the 6km point but a extremely steep hill. I found myself using an old point from someone who told me about cycle touring which was to just stay in the lowest gear and keep riding. I made sure that is what I did. Mt Ainslie is like heartbreak hill for City to Surf runners. It flattens out a bit, giving the rider the impression that they are near the top and then resumes climbing again. I made it to the top by just banging away. I got the card stamped and then began the descent down the hill.

After descending Mt Ainslie I got talking to a guy on a road bike he knew Canberra and had a fair idea of how we were going to get to the next destination – Black Mountain. We went through town, down Anzac parade, through Constitution Avenue (and past my place of work) through London Circuit and Marcus Clark Street and through the ANU.

We then joined a path that lead to Black Mountain, where the climbing was as steep as Mt Ainslie but not as long. It was at this stage I saw Andrew again as they were going down the mountain. I just tackled Black Mountain with the same tactics as I took on Mt Ainslie, just kept in the lowest gear and rode up the mountain. I got the card stamped again and went to the toilets at the Black Mountain tower. I have since been up the tower and found it is quite a view.

After descending this hill there was some more gentler riding to the next mountain. Mount Stromlo. The course followed some bike paths which lead to a point near the Governor General’s official residence. There was a lunch stop which was welcome. There is a photo which I will post later of me getting an iceblock. I was the only rider to take one. The weather was bad and all the riders including myself copped the wind and the rain. After the Lunch stop we wound up going through a number of bike paths that took us through Belconnen. It was here that I had a puncture and set to work fixing it. I got the job done and wound up being the last rider ride on to Mt Stromlo.

With a guy driving a four wheel drive as the Sag wagon behind me I rode through to the Cotter area and then began the ascent of Mt Stromlo. Mt Stromlo has been badly affected by the fires in 2003. There is still ruins of the old telescopes. I found the going on Mt Stromlo hard because of the exhaustion but also the problem of magpies. When I made it to the summit I met an old guy in an old Toyota van. It turns out he is the president of pedal power and was making sure I made it to the summit (as I was the last rider) and that I was OK to continue. I assured him that I was fine and would proceed on to Red Hill. I got the bidons filled with water again and then rode down Mt Stromlo and went through Duffy, Rivett and other suburbs before reaching the bike path near the Cotter Road.

According to the instructions (which I still have there was supposed to be another food stop/checkpoint at the Governor Generals residence. This was open for the Australiana trust which was collecting donations for people to have a look at it and the Prime Ministers residence – the lodge.

I got to the point where the check point was supposed to be and found that they had gone. I asked one of the Australiana trust people to sign off on the card but they wouldn’t. After a brief exchange of words I left leaving the old fool on to continue hanging around outside the guard room.

I finally found my way towards Red Hill and encountered the president of Pedal Power again. He stamped the card and I told him I was going to do Red Hill. He stamped the card for that check point as the people there had been told I may have given up.

I began the ascent and found myself looking at some very beautiful scenery. I rode up the hill and around the lookout. I then went and got myself some more water for the end of the ride. After a brief look at the view I headed down the hill and through some suburbs, around the Parliament and down Kings Avenue. I was relieved when I joined the bike path and rode up to Blundells cottage. I got a show bag from the Canberra Times (the volunteers were packing and had a lot to spare). The president of Pedal Power showed up and gave me a cheer.

I had some lunch in Commonwealth Park and headed back to the Pavilion. I put the Green Trek into the luggage room and had a hot shower and had some dinner in Dickson.

One response to this post.

  1. We should thank you for hosting such a terrific portal. this weblog is not just informative but also bvery imaginative too. There normally are a limited number of experts who can write not so easy articles that creatively. Keep up the good work !!

    Reply

Leave a comment