Over the Halfway Mark

So much for the good intentions. I had intended to tell you when I reached the halfway mark in the Commuter Challenge but with all the intensity of work and other things I missed out. I am now up to over 3000 km on the bike and have had some interesting times getting there. I rode from Canberra to Queanbeyan via the Sutton Road on a number of occasions and have had some interesting encounters with motorists, many of whom (the ones displaying Red P plates) are generally so stupid it should be legal to shoot them (If I was armed I would – but P platers do a good enough job of killing themselves so I will leave them to it). On other occasions I have rode out to Collector and on Saturday I went as far as to have lunch/morning tea at Lerida Winery. I have to say that is a beautiful area to ride in.

The bike is now needing a service. I probably will get a new chain while I am at it. I have also bought a new ride on Ebay – home of many things dodgey. I have always wanted a single speed and have bought one from what appears to be a legitimate dealer. I had it delivered to mum and dad’s place and it has arrived.

On the issue of the Global Corporate Challenge I looks as if my team will not make the finish line this year. It is a shame and I feel that it hasn’t been for lack of effort. Our manager who signed up enthusiastically has not put his steps in and despite some massive rides by me and efforts by the rest of the team we are somewhere in Guyana. I gather we are going through the some of the worlds toughest areas. There was an orphanage in Africa which was the charity of for the event and I gave $10 as a good will gesture. We spent some time in Europe but it appears that South America is going to be where we finish up. We may be able to get past the 100 destinations but not hit the 152 finishing line. Still it is intersting learning about other countries and cultures, albiet from the comfort of a PC at work.

I will most definately finish the commuter challenge though and am looking forward to the spring/summer daylight saving racing and riding season. There are a number of rides in the pipeline. In particular a cycling Grand Prix in Goulburn using the original motorcycling track, the Gong Ride (which I might do with a team from work) and Fitz Challenge which will be a good ride this season given it doesn’t clash with the Gong Ride. I will provide further details on these rides as they come to hand.

On the issue of daylight saving and the racing season ACT vets will be starting soonish and the criterium season will be a good way to add kilometers to the bike computer. Depending on how the Single Speed fits I may even try using it in crit racing.  I have to say that it will be intersting to see how things go this year given I have been riding a lot through winter with the GCC and the Commuter Challenge.

Anyhow I am over the halfway mark and will be going on to finish the challenges as they come.

One response to this post.

  1. Keep up the great work Jonathon, we love hearing about your progress, the GCC is not (and has never been) about getting to the end of the course it’s about finishing the 111 days, only a handful of team finish the course each year (they are the ones averaging about 30-35,000 steps per day every day) and that is the way we like it, it all about the participation and getting people healthier and happier each year. 🙂

    Chat soon,
    Olly

    Reply

Leave a comment